Short History

The Port Augusta Golf Club was formed on the first day of July 1926. The first president was Dr E. Symons and the first captain appointed in 1928 was Mr C. Stanley.

The original course was located six kilometres east of Port Augusta on land that is now bordered by McConnal Road and Highway 1, a line of gum trees is all that remains of the nine hole course today. Records from this early period are not very comprehensive, during the 1930’s members were able to compete in two grades, in 1938 Associates formed their own committee and competed regularly. Mr H Boully donated two cups for the ladies competitions.

The club was in recess from 1941 because of World War Two. On the 19th of May 1950 seventeen men met at the Port Augusta Institute Hall in an effort to reform the club. They were successful in their endeavours, with the Port Augusta Council offering parklands at Port Augusta West to develop a nine hole course. Play commenced in 1951. The clubhouse on the old course was transported to the new course, the clubhouse under went several modifications the last being in October 1965 and remains today as the Pidgeon Club. As the game became more popular in the area it was decided to extend the course to eighteen holes, this was completed by August 1958.

Unfortunately some of the course was located on low lying ground that had a high clay content and it was susceptible to occasional flooding. With increasing membership it was decided to establish a new course and clubhouse. Plans were drawn up and approved in November 1969. The club purchased adjacent land from the Mortlock Estate which was gifted to the City Council to be annexed to their existing parklands and giving the club tenure of the whole area. This enabled an all-weather course to be constructed.

Following the completion of the general construction of the course a major tree planting programme resulted in more than 5,000 trees being planted. The new clubhouse on an elevated site overlooking the Flinders Ranges was opened on the 8th May, 1971.

In 1980 effluent water became available which enabled the development of grassed fairways, this was completed in 1984. By 1991 the club was able to boast eighteen grassed greens.

The course stands today as a testament to the vision and work of members past and present. We acknowledge the assistance of the Port Augusta Council through the years.